The CFDA Awards Really, Really, Really, Really, Really Like You (If You've Been Nominated Before)

March 17, 2015 BY STEVE DOOL


If someone blindfolded me last night, took me to the Top of the Rock to hear the CFDA Award nominations and then told me that they had actually taken me back in time to last year's ceremony, I would have believed them.

You see, the CFDA Awards are to The Row and Joseph Altuzarra as The Oscars are to Meryl Streep and Daniel Day Lewis. You can't deny their talent, but it seems like all they have to do is show up in order to get their names read at this point. We love Thom Browne as much as the next guy with beautifully sculpted ankles, but let's spread the love a little bit. The CFDA is almost 500 members strong. There's got to be more deserving talent than just Michael Kors year after year.

There are thankfully a few first-time nominees mixed in amongst the Alexander Wangs and Proenza Schoulers. Orley, Ovadia & Sons, Ryan Roche, Eva Fehren and Paul Andrew all received first time nods, as did Mansur Gavriel, who are more than deserving for turning their bucket bags into a full-fledged phenomenon.

Also receiving an award for the first time: Instagram. OK!

See the full list of nominees below:

Womenswear Designer of the Year:
Joseph Altuzarra, Altuzarra
Marc Jacobs
Michael Kors
Jack McCollough & Lazaro Hernandez, Proenza Schouler
Mary-Kate Olsen & Ashley Olsen, The Row

Menswear Designer of the Year:
Thom Browne
Tim Coppens
Tom Ford
Dao-Yi Chow & Maxwell Osborne, Public School
Marcus Wainwright & David Neville, Rag & Bone

Accessories Designer of the Year:
Alexander Wang
Tabitha Simmons
Mary-Kate Olsen & Ashley Olsen, The Row
Jack McCollough & Lazaro Hernandez, Proenza Schouler
Irene Neuwirth

Swarovski Award for Womenswear:
Rosie Assoulin
Dao-Yi Chow & Maxwell Osborne, Public School
Ryan Roche

Swarovski Award for Menswear:
Shayne Oliver, Hood by Air
Alex Orley, Matthew Orley & Samantha Orley, Orley
Shimon Ovadia & Ariel Ovadia, Ovadia & Sons

Swarovski Award for Accessory Design:
Paul Andrew
Eva Zuckerman, Eva Fehren
Rachel Mansur & Floriana Gavriel, Mansur Gavriel

Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award: Betsey Johnson

International Award: Maria Grazia Chiuri and Pierpaolo Piccioli of Valentino

The Founder’s Award in Honor of Eleanor Lambert: Mickey Drexler

The Media Award in Honor of Eugenia Sheppard: Instagram

Photo via